Dallas ISD School Board trustees

The Breakdown

What is the School Board?

The School Board is a volunteer-based board, made up of members who establish policies and priorities for the District. Their scope includes outcomes for students, budget, and school performance, among others. The members are volunteers and often have full-time jobs as well. The Board meets monthly and the public is welcome to participate with comments.

Who are the Trustees?

The Trustees are the members of the School Board who are elected by the citizens of the county during local elections. The 9 positions include President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, Board Secretary, and the remaining 5 Trustees. Each represents a different district number (1-9) serving Dallas County. You vote for your district Trustee member.


The districts are established after census years, so areas are apportioned based on census data. There is an average of 25 schools per district, including elementary, middle, high school, and alternative/magnet schools.

  • Term Length: 3 years with staggered terms

  • Trustee must live in their district

  • Trustees run a non-partisan campaign

Brief History of DISD Board
  • 1885: first school board convening

  • 1974: Kathlyn Gilliam - first Black board member

  • 2017: Establishment of the Racial Equity Office

  • 2020: Unanimous Resolution on Commitment to Black students and Black lives

  • 2020: Karla Garcia - youngest and first Latina board member

District 2

Dustin Marshall
  • Trustee for District 2 over past 4 years

  • Believes in value of data & research in decision-making

  • Supports expansion of magnet and choice schools

  • Proposed improvements for each District 2 school in current 2020 bond

Nancy Rodriguez
  • Former foster care social worker and worked with students with disabilities navigate Special Education

  • Believes including parents and community for district decisions

  • Supports creation of Ombudsperson office to increase transparency

Alex Enriquez
  • Founding Executive Director of City Year Dallas

  • Member and Chair of Lipscomb Elementary Steering Committee

  • Believes in allocating budget to existing schools and not opening choice schools

District 6

Alex Enriquez
  • Trustee for District 6 since 2014

  • Has a 35 year career in corporate buying and as a business owner

  • Served on DISD Bond Advisory Committee since 2002

  • Advocate for investing in facilities and experienced educators

  • Running unopposed

District 8

Alicia McClung
  • Founding educator of Uplift Triumph Prep

  • Attended DISD schools

  • Believes in data transparency to achieve racial equity

  • Supports budget priorities for livable employee wages

  • Will advocate for increased involvement with community members via school specific decision committees

Joe Carreón
  • Practicing attorney in Dallas

  • Attended DISD schools

  • Served on various DISD committees and subcommittees

  • Supports universal Pre-K and college readiness

  • Believes in creating a district with strong community buy-in